May 1, 2021 - General Election Information

The City of DeSoto will hold a General Election on May 1, 2021 for Councilmember Place 6 and Councilmember Place 7.  For those who are interested, Candidate Packets are NOW available.  To request a Candidate Packet, please contact Kisha Morris-Perkins, City Secretary, at 972-230-9646 or email with your name, address and phone number.  Packets can either be emailed or a copy will be made available for pick up at the Jim Baugh Government Center (City Hall), 211 E. Pleasant Run Road, DeSoto, Texas.  

The filing period for DeSoto residents interested in filing for a place on the ballot is: Wednesday, January 13, 2021 through Friday, February 12, 2021.  Applications for Councilmember Place 6 and Councilmember Place 7 will not be accepted after Friday, February 12, 2021, at 5pm sharp.  

Early voting by person appearance is scheduled to begin on Monday, April 19, 2021 and continue through Tuesday, April 27, 2021. Early voting is scheduled to take place at Disciple Central Community Church (DC3), located at 901 North Polk Street, DeSoto, Texas.

Election Day Voting is tentatively scheduled at the following DeSoto locations:

Faith Bible Church - 1437 W. Pleasant Run Road
Ruby Young Elementary School - 707 Young Blvd.
Disciple Central Community Church - 901 North Polk Street
The Meadows Elementary School - 1016 The Meadows Parkway
Cockrell Hill Elementary School - 425 S. Cockrell Hill Road
DeSoto High School - 600 Eagle Drive
DeSoto East Middle School - 601 East Belt Line Road
Belt Line Conference Center - 200 East Belt Line Road

Dallas County Elections Department will finalize these Early Voting and Election Day locations as soon as possible.

The following individuals have filed for a place on the ballot and are listed in the order they will appear on the ballot:

Versie Murchison - Candidate - Councilmember Place 6
Crystal Chism - Candidate - Councilmember Place 6
Entaune Tyson - Candidate - Councilmember Place 6

Kenzie Moore III - Candidate - Councilmember Place 7
Calvin Graham - Candidate - Councilmember Place 7 (Candidate withdrew application 02/18/21)
Letitia Hughes - Candidate - Councilmember Place 7

*The last day to register to vote in this election is April 1, 2021.
*Last day to receive an application for ballot by mail (ABBM) in the Dallas County Office (NOT POSTMARKED) is April 20, 2021.
*Last day to receive federal post card application (FPCA) is April 20, 2021.

If you have any questions regarding the May 1, 2021 General Election, please contact the City Secretary's Office at 972-230-9646.

Note: Please continue to check this page as updates are made regularly.