The Municipal Court has jurisdiction over juveniles (16 years of age or younger) charged with Class C misdemeanor offenses.
Juveniles must appear in open court with a parent or legal guardian for all proceedings in their cases.
Failure to Appear
The court will report juveniles who fail to appear or pay their fines to the Texas Department of Public Safety.
The Texas Department of Public Safety will suspend the driver’s license of the reported juvenile and the license will remain suspended until the case is resolved.
If the reported juvenile does not have a driver’s license, they will not be able to obtain one until they resolve the reported cases and the cases are closed.
A Juvenile case does not go away when they become an adult, so delaying the process will only cause the citation to become more expensive and/or more damaging to your record, as well as risking possible arrest once the juvenile turns 17 years of age.