February 2, 2021 - Special Election/  fill an unexpired term - mayor & Councilmember place 7 - Information 

On Tuesday, November 17, 2020 and Monday, November 23, 2020, respectively, the DeSoto City Council approved an ordinance calling for a Special Election to be held on February 2, 2021, to fill an unexpired term for Mayor, Place 1  and Councilmember Place 7 on the City Council.

The filing period for DeSoto residents interested in filing for a place on the ballot was: Wednesday, November 18, 2020 through Wednesday, December 2, 2020.   Applications for Mayor and Councilmember Place 7 will not be accepted after Wednesday, December 2, 2020 at 5pm sharp.  Early voting is scheduled to begin on Wednesday, January 20, 2021 and continue through Friday, January 29, 2021.  

The following individuals have applied for a place on the ballot (in the order they are to appear on the ballot):

Candidate Rachel Proctor - Mayor Place 1 

Candidate Kenzie Moore III - Mayor Place 1 

Candidate John McCalib - Councilmember Place 7

Candidate Calvin Graham - Councilmember Place 7

Candidate Letitia Hughes - Councilmember Place 7

Candidate Keith Pelusi - Councilmember Place 7

Note:  Term expiration for Mayor Place 1 is May 2022.  Term expiration for Councilmember Place 7 is May, 2021.

If you have any questions, please contact Kisha Morris-Perkins, City Secretary, at 972-230-9646 or kmorris@desototexas.gov